Radiation: The Prep Scan

Today we headed to UCH for our radiation prep scan.

The good news is that she has regained a tiny bit of weight. I was so happy to see an extra 20g. I could have cried. Our feeding and medication routine is intense; we take it in turns and it’s day and night. We are exhausted.

She vomited on herself during the drive down in the morning. It is not easy vomiting whilst strapped in a car seat. She was nil by mouth again. I miss Home (gosh). This new place is a change from the norm. Our staff, on the ward today, were delightful and friendly. You might recognise the view. This is where Jasmine was almost a year ago.

Mummy and Daddy star, who were broken (it’s a sign, it’s a sign), and the babies underneath. The perfect number of hearts randomly on the windowsill in our room.

Daddy came for a bit in the morning and then went to work. It was a cold, foggy, hazy start to the day.

We passed the time today doing a few things. Waiting, resting, crying and playing. Mainly playing.

She has three tiny little, tattoos on her. They have marked her with dots for the radiotherapy treatment.

You might ask, well what will they be treating if the abdominal tumour has all been removed? They will be treating the surrounding area where there might be microscopic remnants. They will also be damaging the entire area, organs and spine. There will be long term side effects.

She was sedated and I had a quick cup of tea. 45 minutes later she was snuggly asleep in recovery.

A few hours later on the way home…

We popped into the UCL Staff Common Room for some exceptionally well-timed random banter. Tom bought along his favourite Hey Duggee magazine with stickers.

The newest and youngest honorary member of staff was introduced to one of the oldest (ahem), longest serving staff members. You don’t get to see someone for a year (maybe two) and suddenly, you’re home again. Best ten minutes in a long time. I am far removed from where I was just a few years ago. I miss it but I have no choice in what is happening now. But I realised today, I’ve still got that fire for change and progress inside me.

These two caught up on music and mayhem.

It was a quick ten minute visit on the way home. I had to rush back to Jasmine who wasn’t well. Daya’s blood pressure has been creeping up again. More things to keep on top of.

Perfection is a perfectly timed fist bump.

Back home ‘Princess’ Jasmine needed a lot of cuddles. And this year Anaya wanted to put a ‘fake’ tree together. I have encouraged her to not go for a tree that has been chopped down however I’m not sure how eco friendly our fake tree is. At least I won’t be sweeping up pine needles! Given that we have missed Christmas for the last 5 years due to being in hospital every single year, I’m happy to put the tree up in November. I think we will miss Christmas this year too as radiation will run over.

So Daya found herself a new home. She still really is very small.

She sat in the empty tree box munching her snacks whilst Anaya and I quickly unfluffed a 7 foot Christmas tree at 8pm on a Friday night.

Leave a comment